Getting To Know Todd Thanhauser, Drummer of Alternative Rock Band A.D. 2020

LLTM: Is there a special meaning or back story on how the band got its name?

Todd: We were at the height of pandemic in 2020 when the album concept was conceived as a special one off project and so as a moment in history we felt A.D.2020 was a fitting name.

LLTM: Who have been some of your biggest musical influences and can we hear any similarities?

Todd: Personally, there is a bit of one of my favorite band Dan Reed Network on the album since Dan and Melvin Brannon from the band are on the album. Dan also collaborated with us on the songs so that influence is there.
There are lots of influences, but the songs are all unique and have different musical landscapes and textures. Due to the variety of people on the album there are lots of influences being drawn upon and
I feel the result has been a unique listening experience.

LLTM: What has been the hardest part about being in the music industry today? What about the easiest?

Todd: The hardest part is getting the music to the listeners and navigating the whole streaming and internet social media world.

LLTM: When you listen to music, do you connect more with the lyrics or the instrumental side?

Todd: Both, while I do appreciate lyrics that move me in some way emotionally, there are also some great instrumentals out there and even just a brilliant musical moment in a song can be something that makes
you take notice and elicit a response.

LLTM: Who is currently on your playlist, and what song could you never get tired of?

Todd: A.D.2020 “Lockdown Diaries” lol once the album is released in August I probably won’t listen to it again.
Right now I am really into vinyl and so I am listening to some of the great vinyl remaster collections that have been released. I have quite a stack of vinyl to listen to beginning in September 2021 including box sets by RUSH, Emerson Lake and Palmer, The Clash “London Calling” are all in the queue. If I stream music I tend to listen to artists works that I haven’t listened to previously. I have listened to Prince’s entire catalog an lots of other bands entire collections. I only listen to new releases when I am driving .

LLTM: Who has been that person in your life you have always looked up to and why?

Todd: Mark McNelley, lead vocals and my musical partner is a big inspiration, because he tends to balance me and keep me grounded. That’s one of the reasons despite difference of opinion we have never had an argument and have
been playing music together for over 12 years.

LLTM: What do you hope the fans get out of your music?

Todd: I hope the fans are moved in some way, whether they are excited, find humor or some other emotion as long as they are touched by the music that’s all I need,

LLTM: If you had to give up something for 30 days to perform with any artist/band for 1 hour, what would you give up and who would you be performing with?

Todd: There are many things I would give up for 30 days to perform with Paul McCartney. I suppose meat might be appropriate since Paul is vegetarian we could talk about that for certain.

LLTM: Where do you hope to see yourself in 5 years and what will it take to get there?

Todd: Writing and recording more music to share with those that want to listen.

LLTM: What is the most influential quote or saying for you and why?

Todd: John Lennon has a quote about happiness, and I think that being happy is very important.
“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

LLTM: Has the writing or recording process began for a new EP/Album, if so when can the fans expect it to be released?

Todd: Our album “Lockdown Diaries” will be released on August 10 2021 and details are on our website www.ad2020music.com

LLTM: What does the touring schedule look like for 2021?

Todd: For me and most of the musicians on the album there will be touring in 2022

For More Information on This Talented Band, A.D. 2020, from music, news and more click on the link below

https://www.facebook.com/AD2020Music/

Peace, Love and Music

Hope Romine❤

Leave a comment